Princeton town council appointments announced

Appointments to the Similkameen Planning Committee, the RDOS and the Airport Committee are included.

Council appointments for 2012 have been released.

Council appointments for 2012 have been released.

Regional appointments

Regional District of Okanagan-Similkameen: Mayor Fred Thomas, Coun. Frank Armitage (alternate)

Similkameen Valley Planning Society: Coun. Armitage, Mayor Thomas (alternate)

Okanagan Regional Library: Coun. Marilyn Harkness

Vermillion Forks Community Forest Corporation: Mayor Thomas, Coun. Armitage

Southern Interior Municipal Employer’s Association: Coun. Harkness

Internal appointments

Princeton and District Community Forest Corporation: Mayor Thomas, Coun. Jason Earle, Coun. Kim Maynard, Coun. Armitage

Airport Committee: Mayor Thomas, Coun. Armitage, Coun. Harkness

Community appointments

Community Health Committee: Mayor Thomas

Committee for the Approval of Public Events: Coun. Earle

Community Liaison

Chamber of Commerce: Mayor Thomas

Princeton Arts Council: Coun. Harkness

Princeton Curling Club: Coun. Harkness

Princeton and District Community Skills Centre: Mayor Thomas

Princeton and District Museum and Archives: Coun. Maynard

Princeton Exhibition Association: Coun. Earle

Princeton Golf Club Society: Coun. Armitage

Princeton Seniors Drop-in Centre Society: Coun. Harkness

Recreation Commission: Coun. Earle

Vermillion Trail Society: Coun. Earle


The new appointments will be ratified by council on Feb. 6.


Just Posted

The weekly COVID-19 map for June 6 to 12. (BC CDC)
South Okanagan sees only 5 new cases in last week

The Similkameen Valley went a second week without any new cases

Birtch Parlee is one of approximately 132,000 transgender people living across the nation, according to Statistics Canada. Photo submitted
Transgender in a small town – Princeton B.C.

“I buried it. I pushed it down. I lived a lie.”

A tent housing a mobile vaccination clinic. (Interior Health/Contributed)
Second dose vaccinations accelerating throughout region: Interior Health

To date, more than 675,000 doses have been administered throughout the region

Dan Albas
COLUMN: Reopening the international border

Governments in Canada and the United States are working towards reopening plans for the border

Okanagan Lake (File photo)
Thompson-Okanagan ready to welcome back tourists

The Thompson-Okanagan Tourism Association expects this summer to be a busy one

Bear wanders Kelowna on June 15. (Michelle Wallace/Facebook)
Bear climbs fence, uses crosswalk in Kelowna

The bear was spotted on Baron Road Wednesday evening

Provincial health officer Dr. Bonnie Henry outlines B.C.’s COVID-19 restart plan, May 25, 2021, including larger gatherings and a possible easing of mandatory masks on July 1. (B.C. government photo)
B.C. records 120 new COVID-19 cases, second vaccines accelerating

Lower Pfizer deliveries for early July, Moderna shipments up

The weekly COVID-19 map for June 6 to 12. (BC CDC)
South Okanagan sees only 5 new cases in last week

The Similkameen Valley went a second week without any new cases

A heart of ribbons is seen on the fence of Highroad Academy along Chilliwack Central Road on Friday, June 4, 2021. (Jenna Hauck/ Chilliwack Progress)
Orange Heart Memorial campaign launches in Vernon on National Indigenous Peoples Day

North Okanagan Friendship Center raising funds for bench, mural memorializing 215 discovered in Kamloops

A Heffley Creek peacock caught not one - but two - lifts on a logging truck this month. (Photo submitted)
Heffley Creek-area peacock hops logging trucks in search of love

Peacock hitched two lifts in the past month

The Calgary skyline is seen on Friday, Sept. 15, 2017. THE CANADIAN PRESS/Jeff McIntosh
2 deaths from COVID-19 Delta variant in Alberta, 1 patient was fully immunized

Kerry Williamson with Alberta Health Services says the patients likely acquired the virus in the hospital

B.C. Public Safety Minister Mike Farnworth and Attorney General David Eby attend opening of the first government-run B.C. Cannabis Store, Kamloops, Oct. 19, 2018. (B.C. government)
B.C. government to allow home cannabis delivery starting July 15

Added convenience expected to persuade buyers to ‘go legal’

Festivals Kelowna president Richard Groves and executive director Renata Mills wrap themselves in the flag during the announcement of preparations for the 2018 Canada Day festival. (Alistair Waters/Capital News)
Festivals Kelowna cancels Canada Day celebrations for second year in a row

The group cited logistic issues in their announcement

Most Read