Skip to content

Election changes almost nothing for Princeton and area

Mayor, councillors, Area H director and school district trustees all returned
Princeton Mayor Spencer Coyne, returned to office Saturday, Oct. 15, celebrating with his partner Jess Blue, and son Quinisco, on election night. Photo Andrea DeMeer

Almost nothing changed for Princeton and area as a result of the 2022 municipal election.

Spencer Coyne was handily re-elected as mayor, with 827 votes, while challenger Doug Pateman received 164.

Coyne told the Spotlight he was grateful for the town’s support.

“Thank you Princeton, for voting for me. I’m overwhelmed,” he said. “And I want to thank Doug for being a great opponent and running a good, clean campaign.”

On election night Coyne said he planned to “hit the ground running” the next day, on numerous projects already in the works.

All four members of Princeton council were returned, shutting out two new hopefuls.

Barb Gould received the most votes with 815. Gould was also top of the field in 2018, when there were 15 candidates.

Tyler Willis (679), Randy McLean (639) and George Elliott (619) were re-elected.

Challengers Bob Long and Arone Sheriland received 448 and 311 votes respectively.

Bob Coyne was elected to a third term as director of Area H, in the Regional District of Okanagan Similkameen (RDOS), with 306 votes over Michael Mazurek, who received 202.

In an interview he said he is very humbled by the result.

“I am absolutely honored that people have chosen to support me again.”

He said he is proud of maintaining his integrity while campaigning.

“We weren’t silly buggers.”

And he added he is pleased to be working with a new board around the RDOS table. “I’m very excited that we are going to have a new board, and it’s a pretty well-experienced board.”

Leah Ward and David Rainer were re-elected as trustees for the Nicola-Similkameen School District, with 949 votes and 687 votes respectively.

The only new face to local leadership, resulting from all races, was Jamie Kent-Laidlaw, who took the third seat for school board with 660 votes.

Ed Staples received 644 votes, and Dan Hillman earned 640 for SD58.

Related: Jason Wiebe elected Mayor of Keremeos

Related: Summerland voters choose council experience

Do you have something to add to this story, or something else we should report on?

 Like us on Facebook and follow us on Twitter.

Andrea DeMeer

About the Author: Andrea DeMeer

Andrea is the publisher of the Similkameen Spotlight.
Read more