Past zone commander Chris Yerburgh

Past zone commander Chris Yerburgh

New Legion executive installed at Branch 56 Princeton

Legion executive officers were sworn in by Deputy Zone Commander Wells and Ladies Auxiliary by Zone Commander Ashley.

Dignitaries of the Royal Canadian Legion travelled to Princeton on January 4 to participate in the Legion Branch 56  Installation of Officers, Honours and Awards evening.

Past Zone Commander Chris Yerburgh, Deputy Zone Commander Graem Wells  and Ladies Auxiliary Zone Commander Marina Ashley participated in the official swearing in of the executive officers for the Royal Canadian Legion Branch 56 Legion and Ladies Auxiliary for 2013.

Sworn in by Zone Commander Ashley for the Ladies Auxiliary are; Ann Bauder serving as secretary-treasurer, executive members Norma Kraetor and Dawn Johnson and serving as president, Charlene Longdo.

The Legion executive officers were sworn in by Deputy Zone Commander Wells and are serving in the positions as follows;

Sergeant at Arms – Chuck Whitlock, Chaplain – Sharon Paterson, executive committee members – Neal Cox and Bernadette Kelleher, second vice – Jean Bowles, first vice Bob Paterson and Legion president, Jim Turner.

President Turner took a moment to offer his personal thanks to all the volunteers that work at the Legion. “All these wonderful people volunteer their time—working in the kitchen, cleaning or doing repairs. Every little bit helps, and I just want to say thank you,” he said.

Membership awards (pins) for five, 10 and up to 65 years were then presented to members in attendance. Ann Jones who received her 30 year pin shared her story of how she became a Legion member. “I went to go to the Legion with a friend 30 years ago but it was closed—so we went to the pub,” she said. This statement brought about giggles from the crowd and she then explained that she did get her papers, came back and signed up.

George Kassa was presented with his 65 year pin during the later part of 2012.

Ladies Auxiliary members not in attendance but were announced will receive the following; Carol Seaman and Arlene Marsel – 5 year awards, Marg Appleby – 30 years, Elenor Sinclair – 35 and Jean Lindsay – 40 years.

The Legion Ladies Auxiliary received a standing ovation in appreciation for the incredible service they give to both the Legion and the community.

Past Zone Commander Yerburgh, Deputy Zone Commander Wells and Ladies Zone Commander Ashley extended their pleasure and appreciation for the invitation to take part in the evening and extended their best wishes to all for a Happy New Year. Commander Ashley concluded by saying, “It is great to see a full slate of officers for the Legion and the Ladies Auxiliary. May you all have a successful year.”